In the footsteps of the Sahaba..

We finally got out for some sightseeing last weekend.  This is only the second time in the two plus years we’ve lived in Egypt that we’ve been anywhere.  The first time was the pyramids (in my opinion a waste of money, drive to Giza and look at them from outside the gates!)

We visited the first masjid built not just in Egypt, but in all of Afrikiya masjid ‘Amr ibn al-As.  It was huge, the whole compound took up a block.  I tried and failed miserably to get a panoramic pic of the whole facade of the building.  A beautiful building with hundreds of smalls glass lamps hanging from the ceiling.  There was a janaza going on when we got there.

We also visited the grave of Imam Shafi’i.  I didn’t get any pictures there.  I felt a little strange to photograph it, even though the building was quite beautiful.  Unfortunately people go there and hold on to the wooden frame surrounding the grave, cry and make dua.  The floor surrounding his grave is littered with money, pictures, and notes.  I had dh read to me and the kids about Imam Shafi’i the night before going.  He was born in Palestine, moved as a baby to Madina after he was orphaned.  He grew up there and later moved to Iraq.  He spent his last years in Egypt, masjid ‘Amr ibn al-As was one of the places where he taught. 

Entrance masjid Amr ibn al-As

hall-masjid Amr

mihrab-masjid Amr

mihrab-masjid Amr

 fountain-masjid Amr

3 Responses

  1. As salaamu alaykum “asiya’s mom”, this is Asiya your buddy here in Egypt. Welcome to wordpress!

    I too visited the pyramids and masjid Amr bin al-As on our first visit here to Egypt (2001). We didn’t go inside the pyramids either, but certainly standing up close to one–after hearing about this “wonder of the world” for as long as I can remember–, feeling the texture of the stones, not to mention realizing that one step is about as tall as I am (5’8″/172cm), I was in complete awe. It was a shame that the ancient Egyptians were so intelligent, yet lost in worship of false gods. May Allaah continue to guide us upon the straight path.

    And yes masjid Amr bin al-As has a special place in my heart, and probably every muslim’s heart for that matter. It is just as beautiful in your photos as it was 6 years ago. I love how the roof is open and the pigeons gather round. Tell me, have they done anything about all the cats running round in there?

    Great blog! I’m adding you to my blogroll inshaa Allaah.

    Asiya
    aka “cairowash”

  2. Wa alaikum salaam

    Thanks. I wondered where your blog had gone, I kept looking for it at blogspot. I’ve added you too. Wassalaam.

  3. BTW, I saw not one cat!

Leave a Reply

